| Medienmitteilungen, Year of the Rail

European agreement: Women in Rail (WiR)

SBB and SEV are committed to promoting equality for women in the rail sector

Signing of the agreement, from left to right: Maria Cristina Marzola, ETF Railway Section Vice-Chair; Sabine Trier Deputy General Secretary of ETF; Giorgio Tuti, ETF Railway Section Chair; Matthias Rohrmann, President of the EU Sectoral Social Dialogue for Railways; Sophie Dutordoir, Member of the CER Management Committee and CEO of SNCB.

A Europe-wide social partner agreement is intended to improve working conditions for women at all European railways, with the goal of increasing the proportion of female employees. As the Swiss representatives to the Europe-wide negotiations, SBB and SEV, the Swiss Transport Workers’ Union, worked hard to bring about this agreement.

The European social partners in the rail sector – the trade union umbrella organisation the European Transport Workers’ Federation (ETF) and the Community of European Railway and Infrastructure Companies (CER) – started negotiating the Women in Rail (WiR) framework agreement around three years ago. In his capacity as ETF Railway Section President and head of the ten-person ETF negotiating delegation, SEV President Giorgio Tuti played a decisive role in this process.

Video interview with Giorgio Tuti (in German): 


Video interview with Sabine Trier, ETF Deputy General Secretary (in German):

For its part, SBB, as a member of the CER and under the leadership of Markus Jordi, Member of the SBB Management Board and Head of Human Resources, has been initiating dialogue between the European social partners for several years. During the WiR negotiations, SBB set up agreements among the HR heads of the most important railways, including DB, SNCF and ÖBB. In the final phase of negotiations in June 2021, both SBB and SEV played a significant part in reaching a successful conclusion. The agreement was signed jointly by CER and ETF today in Brussels (cf. media release ETF under this link: https://wp.me/paiG0l-3wv; media release of the CER: http://www.cer.be/media/press-releases/women-rail-agreement-signed-and-ready-implementation).

Railways dependent on more wome

The main objective of the Europe-wide Women in Rail agreement is to improve the working conditions of women in terms of equality in order to increase the proportion of female employees in the railway sector. In concrete terms, the signatory parties want to achieve better conditions for women – in particular by means of fair pay, a strong focus on health and safety at work, career advancement and prevention of sexual harassment. “This is also urgently needed, since railways will be hugely dependent on female workers in the coming years – especially younger women, given that around 40% of railway staff will retire by 2035,” explained Giorgio Tuti. “Added to that is the fact that railways’ staffing needs will increase because, as a climate-friendly means of transport, rail will hopefully transport more passengers and goods in the future.” 

This is the first successful agreement resulting from European social dialogue in the railway sector since an agreement was reached on the cross-border deployment of railway staff 15 years ago. Both the European railways and their trade unions are bound by the WiR agreement.

SBB is on the right track on equality

Across Europe, currently only 21% of workers in the rail sector are women. SBB has continually increased the proportion of women in its workforce in recent years and will continue to do so by implementing targeted measures. At present, just under one fifth of its workers are women. Markus Jordi, Head of HR at SBB, said: “SBB is already firmly on the right track with most of the objectives of the agreement. In 2019, we adopted our diversity principles, which include promoting part-time work and job-sharing at all levels of hierarchy. Similarly, SBB is aiming for a more diverse management team with our 2025 Diversity Ambitions. The goal is to have two or more women represented in each management team, and to have multilingual management teams from the business unit level up.”

Since then, numerous business units have addressed the topic of diversity and its relevance in depth and have identified areas for actions specific to the unit. SBB organises dialogue on equality in various forms. With regards to equal pay, SBB is also very much on the right track and holds the University of St. Gallen’s ‘We Pay Fair’ label. However, there is still potential for improvement, for example on the questions of work-life balance and career-family balance. In addition, SBB would like to improve uptake of part-time roles and job-sharing in management positions.

The Community of European Railways and the European Transport Workers’ Federation will support the implementation of the agreement by means of a project. The status of implementation will be reviewed for the first time in two years at the latest.

 

> The agreement "Women in Rail" of the 5.11.2021:

Download in English (PDF)

 

> For media information:

  • SEV: Giorgio Tuti, SEV President and ETF Railway Section President, 079 221 45 64, Enable JavaScript to view protected content..
  • SBB: Media Relations, 051 220 41 11, Enable JavaScript to view protected content..


> Photos:

> Photos of the signing ceremony on 5.11.2021 (Source: CER/ETF) at this linkhttps://www.cer.be/media/picture-galleries/signing-ceremony-european-social-partner-agreement-women-rail

> Legends to press images to download (see below):

1) Giorgio Tuti and Markus Jordi at the signing of the "Women in Rail" agreement on 5.11.2021 in Brussels.

2) Signing of the agreement, from left to right: Maria Cristina Marzola, ETF Railway Section Vice-Chair; Sabine Trier Deputy General Secretary of ETF; Giorgio Tuti, ETF Railway Section Chair; Matthias Rohrmann, President of the EU Sectoral Social Dialogue for Railways; Sophie Dutordoir, Member of the CER Management Committee and CEO of SNCB.

3) At the WiR negotiations, the ETF delegation of ten was led by Giorgio Tuti, President ETF Rail Section, and Sabine Trier, ETF Deputy General Secretary - both seen here at the signing.

| Communiqués de presse, Year of the Rail

Accord européen Women in Rail (WiR) signé

Le SEV et les CFF s’emploient à promouvoir l’égalité

Signature de l'accord, de gauche à droite: Maria Cristina Marzola, vice-présidente de la Section ferroviaire de l'ETF; Sabine Trier, secrétaire générale adjointe de l'ETF; Giorgio Tuti, président de la Section ferroviaire de l'ETF; Matthias Rohrmann, président du dialogue social de l'UE dans le secteur ferroviaire; Sophie Dutordoir, membre du Management Committee de la Communauté européenne du rail et CEO des SNCB.

Cet accord entre partenaires sociaux valable à l’échelon européen doit permettre d’améliorer les conditions de travail des femmes dans toutes les entreprises de chemin de fer européennes et vise à augmenter la part des femmes dans le personnel ferroviaire. Les CFF et le Syndicat du personnel des transports (SEV) ont activement participé à la concrétisation de cet accord en tant que représentants suisses dans les négociations européennes.

Les partenaires sociaux européens du secteur ferroviaire – la Fédération européenne des travailleurs des transports (ETF) et la Communauté européenne du rail et des Compagnies d’infrastructure (CER) – ont entamé les négociations sur l’accord-cadre «Women in Rail» (WiR) il y a trois ans environ. En tant que président de la section ferroviaire de l’ETF et responsable de la délégation de négociation composée de dix personnes de l’ETF (9 femmes et 1 homme), le président du SEV Giorgio Tuti y a joué un rôle déterminant.

Interview vidéo avec Giorgio Tuti: 


Interview vidéo avec Sabine Trier, Secrétaire générale adjointe de l'ETF (sous-titres en français disponibles dans Youtube):

En tant que membre de la CER, les CFF ont quant à eux favorisé les échanges entre les partenaires sociaux européens sous la houlette de Markus Jordi, membre de la Direction du groupe CFF et responsable HR, il y a plusieurs années déjà. Pendant les négociations WiR, les CFF ont mis sur les rails des accords entre les chefs HR des principales entreprises de chemin de fer, notamment la DB, la SNCF et les ÖBB. Les CFF et le SEV ont largement contribué à l’aboutissement de la phase finale des négociations en juin 2021. L’accord a été signé conjointement par la CER et l’ETF à Bruxelles aujourd’hui (cf. communiqué de presse de l'ETF sous ce lien : https://wp.me/paiG0l-3wv; communiqué de la CER sous http://www.cer.be/media/press-releases/women-rail-agreement-signed-and-ready-implementation).

Les entreprises ferroviaires ont besoin de plus de femmes

L’objectif principal de l’accord européen Women in Rail est d’améliorer les conditions de travail des femmes en termes d’égalité afin d’augmenter la part des femmes employées dans le secteur ferroviaire. Concrètement, les parties signataires veulent obtenir de meilleures conditions pour les femmes: rémunération équitable, promotion de la santé et de la sécurité au poste de travail, valorisation des carrières et prévention contre le harcèlement sexuel. «C’est nécessaire et urgent, car les entreprises ferroviaires auront besoin de personnel féminin dans les prochaines années, surtout de femmes jeunes, car d’ici 2035 environ 40% du personnel ferroviaire partira à la retraite», déclare Giorgio Tuti. «À ceci s’ajoute que les chemins de fer vont avoir besoin de plus de personnel. En effet, espérons que le rail, moyen de transport respectueux du climat s’il en est, transporte davantage de passagers et de marchandises à l’avenir.»
 

Cet accord est le premier succès du dialogue social européen dans le secteur ferroviaire, depuis l’accord sur le déploiement transfrontalier du personnel ferroviaire il y a 15 ans. L’accord WiR engage non seulement les réseaux européens mais aussi leurs syndicats.

En matière d’égalité, les CFF sont sur la bonne voie

À l’échelon européen, seules 21% de femmes travaillent dans le secteur ferroviaire. Ces dernières années, les CFF n’ont pas cessé d’augmenter la part des femmes dans leurs effectifs et vont poursuivre en ce sens en engageant des mesures ciblées. À ce jour, les femmes représentent un peu moins d’un cinquième du personnel. Markus Jordi, responsable HR CFF: «Les CFF sont déjà en bonne voie pour atteindre la plupart des objectifs de l’accord. En 2019, les CFF ont adopté leurs principes de diversité, comme la promotion des temps partiels et du job sharing à tous les niveaux hiérarchiques. De même, avec leurs ambitions pour 2025 en matière de diversité, les CFF entendent diversifier davantage leurs équipes de direction. Dans chaque équipe de direction, les femmes doivent être représentées au nombre de deux ou plus et chaque équipe de direction doit être multilingue dès le niveau des secteurs d’activité/unités d’affaires.»

Depuis, plusieurs secteurs d’activité/unités d’affaires ont réfléchi en profondeur au thème de la diversité et à sa pertinence, avant d’identifier les actions requises spécifiques au secteur ou à l’unité. Les CFF organisent différents formats de dialogue autour de l’égalité. Également en termes d’égalité salariale, les CFF sont sur la bonne voie et disposent du label «we pay fair» de l’Université de Saint-Gall. Mais il y a encore une marge de progression en matière de compatibilité entre vie professionnelle et vie privée ou entre le travail et la famille. Les CFF souhaitent aussi améliorer l’acceptation des temps partiels et du job sharing dans les postes de direction.

La Communauté des chemins de fer européens et la Fédération européenne des travailleurs des transports vont accompagner la mise en œuvre de l’accord sur la base d’un projet. L’état d’avancement de la mise en œuvre sera examiné pour la première fois au plus tard dans deux ans.

 

> Texte de l'accord "Women in Rail" du 5.11.2021:

Download en français (PDF, cliquer)

Download en anglais (PDF)


> Informations pour les médias:

  • SEV: Giorgio Tuti, président du SEV et président de la section ferroviaire de l’ETF,
    +41 79 221 45 64, Enable JavaScript to view protected content..
  • CFF: Service de presse, +41 51 220 41 11, Enable JavaScript to view protected content.

> Photos:

> Photos de la cérémonie de signature du 5.11.2021 (source: CER/ETF) à ce lien: https://www.cer.be/media/picture-galleries/signing-ceremony-european-social-partner-agreement-women-rail

> Légendes des images de presse à télécharger (voir ci-dessous):

1) Giorgio Tuti et Markus Jordi lors de la signature de l'accord "Women in Rail" le 5.11.2021 à Bruxelles.

2) Signature de l'accord, de gauche à droite: Maria Cristina Marzola, vice-présidente de la Section ferroviaire de l'ETF; Sabine Trier, secrétaire générale adjointe de l'ETF; Giorgio Tuti, président de la Section ferroviaire de l'ETF; Matthias Rohrmann, président du dialogue social de l'UE dans le secteur ferroviaire; Sophie Dutordoir, membre du Management Committee de la Communauté européenne du rail et CEO des SNCB.

3) La délégation de l'ETF chargée de négocier l'accord WiR était dirigée par Giorgio Tuti, président de la section ferroviaire de l'ETF, et Sabine Trier, secrétaire générale adjointe de l'ETF, tous deux présents lors de la signature.

Images de presse